The Gaseous Planets You Must Know

Saturn Gaseous Planets

In our article today we will study a very interesting and important geography subject for us, which are the Gaseous Planets among the planets.

But let’s not talk exactly about all the planets in the Solar System, since today’s goal is to explore the gaseous planets. Let us explain which are the gaseous planets, also illustrating their main characteristics as a group and the individualities of each planet.

Characteristics of the gaseous planets

The starting point for identifying gaseous planets is to understand their main characteristics. The main, and most important, is that the gaseous planets are predominantly formed by gases of the most varied types.

The gaseous planets, which may also be called giant planets or Jovian planets, are the largest planets in the Solar System. In addition, these planets have a large number of satellites and have a ring system around them.

Read also: Studying the Different Air Masses – Read Now

In our Solar System, there are altogether four gaseous planets, which are: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Let’s study a little of each of these planets.


Jupiter is the largest planet among the gaseous planets (and therefore the largest in the Solar System!). It is such a large planet that its volume is more than two thousand times the volume of planet Earth! Also, an important feature of this planet is a large number of moons, being 63 in total!

You can look at Planet Jupiter in the image below and not identify a ring system around it. However, this ring system exists, but with greater difficulty of visualization.



Saturn is the second-largest planet in the solar system and, unlike Jupiter, has the ring system in its very visible surroundings! These rings are made up of a huge amount of ice, dust and rock fragments, which can vary greatly in size.

Featuring another feature of the gaseous planets, Saturn has a total of 47 moons, the largest being larger than Planet Mercury!



Uranus is the third-largest planet in the Solar System. It presents in total a total of 29 moons. Its size is also large, and its diameter is nearly four times the diameter of the earth! Also, due to its distance from the sun and rotating conditions, each season of the year on Uranus equals approximately 20 Earth years!



Neptune ‘s characteristics are very similar to those presented by Uranus. Among these planets, it is the only one that cannot be observed with the naked eye, regardless of the conditions of Earth observation. It has 13 moons in all, and a peculiar feature of this planet is the speed of the winds, which can reach 2000 km / h.

Neptune Gaseous Planet

In this way, we study the four planets as well as their main characteristics. Understanding the planets is very important. Soon we will study about the rocky planets, thus exploring all the planets that make up the Solar System!

Leave a Comment